Harry Potter and the HBP Trailer

30 07 2008

Well, the first real trailer was released today for the upcoming Harry Potter movie, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. This is the sixth installation of the Harry Potter series. The trailer, which you can watch here, I personally think leaves something to be desired. At least to those who are familiar with the books. We do get a glimpse (more than a glimpse, actually) of young Tom Riddle, also known as Lord Voldemort. But there are several key storylines that are missing from the trailer. And, I realize that movie trailers aren’t long, and can’t give everything away. Obviously. The trailer does reveal that this movie is going to be, like the book, darker than the Harry Potter movies we are used to.
I am looking forward to the release of this movie, even more than I am looking forward to the release of the Twilight movie. I am just not sure about Robert Pattinson as Edward. I did love him as Cedric, and I suppose it’s not fair for me to expect him to remain “dead” for the rest of his career. Although, as a vampire, I suppose that is slightly what he is again. Slightly dead. Yup, that’s what the master’s degree brought me. Phrases like “slightly dead.” Anyway, I’ve just recently seen a new teaser for Twilight, and it has me more excited about it than I was after seeing the first teaser.
Harry Potter November, Twilight December. These are two movies that I am excited about coming to the big screen.
And I will say that if you have not read the Twilight series, you should. And don’t disregard it because it is billed as a “young adult” novel. There is nothing young adult about the emotions that author Stephenie Meyer has managed to envoke in her characters.

Chase

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

