Fini

29 07 2008
Well, I have done it. I am officially a Master from the Graduate School of Political Management at The George Washington University. It feels wonderful, although I must admit that it is going to be strange, not going to class. I am used to having many things occupying my mind, and I’ve noticed at work now, that when I only have work to think about, I get slightly antsy. I’ve taken to playing music, simply as a way to occupy some of my brain cells. I’ve been this way for a while, actually. I was never able to study in complete silence. Whereas most people tend to like the quiet while they study, I needed to have the television or the radio on, because if the only thing I focused on was my school work, I zoned out. Strange, eh? Anyway, none of this is the point. The point is that after 18 years of school, with very little break, I now have two degrees (and what to show for it?). I jest. I am looking forward to getting my social life back. In an interesting story, we took a class photo at graduation. The photographer did the general, smile, click business, but then of course she suggested that we take a silly photo. The 56 graduates all turned and looked at each other. It was simply as if we had forgotten how to be funny. It was a sad moment for us all. Although it makes for a great story now that I can reflect back on it (all the way back to Saturday afternoon). The Dean of our school also threw books around the stage at graduation. I’ve participated in three graduations now of my own, plus attended countless others of my family members. I can honestly say that this graduate ceremony is the most memorable I have ever attended. Between Dean Arterton throwing books around the stage and the featured speaker, former Representative from Florida, Joe Scarborough, this certainly was an excellent ceremony. It may also be in part that for the first time, I have no idea what is coming. Even when I graduated from Oklahoma State University, I was started at GW a month later. There was always more school. Now, there is no more school. At least, not for a while. A loooooooong while. I am going to enjoy being 23 for a bit. At least until I am 24, anyway. 🙂

Master Chase

 

Actions

Information

One response

5 08 2008
Fan

Congratulations on earning your Masters Degree and in a very short time i might add. You should be proud! You may feel like life is a little boring at first, but it won’t take long to fill those empty hours and thoughts running through your fast paced mind. Your learning is never over, it will just be less structured, and can be so much more fun. Time to learn about things without the stress of summarizing it again and again for some prof. Grab the opportunity to play a little more than you have had the time for and soon there will be something new you want to learn about and it will take over the languid moments. Obtaining your Masters has much to show, even though you might not be sure what it is. It’s there and it shows!

Leave a Reply

