Moving……

17 03 2008

I like looking at different apartments and houses on occasion, just to see what is out there. It’s fun, looking at different floor plans, and imagining having different options for decorating and arranging furniture. I hate moving. Hate it. Packing everything, unpacking everything….plus the whole mess of hiring movers, or renting a truck, and are there people around that are willing to help with the heavy lifting? Well, I found out this weekend that I am going to be moving. Not in the next month, but at the end of June. Well, I don’t have to move, but I am so not willing to pay what they are raising my rent to at the end of June. So, moving really is the only option. I’ve lived here for a year and a half, so it’s sad for me to have to move. Anyway, I’ve spent some time on the ever-popular Craigslist the past few days, just seeing what is out there. I am pretty picky about where I live, and probably pretty spoiled. I like having my own washer and dryer. That is the biggest thing for me. Other things I have to consider are proximity to a metro station (for my commute to work), available parking, and closet size. Because I have (admittedly) too many clothes. Not to mention the fact that roommate and I have to decide if we want to continue living together, or not. Because she will be getting married, and then we won’t be living together. So, is it easier to just go ahead and get our own places now? I’ve lived by myself, and I’ve lived with roommates. I can’t say whether one is preferential to the other. It is definitely less expensive when you are splitting the rent with someone. And if you are close friends with your roommate, there is always someone there to hang out with, which is a huge plus. This whole, moving thing is really stressing me. Not knowing where I am going to live stresses me. Everyone that I have talked to about it tells me not to stress, that it will work out fine. But until I have answers to some of my questions (mainly, where am I going to live, and how much am I going to have to pay to stay there?), I am going to remain stressed about it. Moving is a stressful time. 😦

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

