Starbucks vs. Dunkin’ Donuts

26 02 2008

Coffee chains batter-ing it out? Has this fight been brewing for a while? It was announced that coffee chain Starbucks is closing its stores nationwide today from 5:30-8:30pm for espresso training. And rival Dunkin’ Donuts is foaming at the mouth just to get an additional shot of Starbucks’ regulars. Today, from 1pm to 10pm, Dunkin’ Donuts is offering a small latte for $.99. When opportunity came a’knockin’, Dunkin’ Donuts opened the door and said, “Have some coffee!” This is one of the best examples I have ever seen of taking advantage of environmental opportunities when they arise. I may live in the online marketing world most of the time (guess I’m just wired that way), but I always appreciate seeing examples of the marketing techniques I was taught in school. This caffeine-charged campaign may sprinkle Dunkin’ Donuts with a new crop of coffee drinkers. And a robusta market share is just what the barista ordered for this breakfast bakery. In the past year or so, the company has already changed its image by adding a new face, Rachael Ray, as spokesperson, and also by expanding its menu. Look out, Starbucks. Dunkin’ Donuts isn’t just playing for beans anymore!

Actions

Information

One response

18 08 2011
ChibiNeko

Now as far as the DD coffee goes, it’s tops. A friend of mine turned me onto this coffee, saying that it was better than Starbucks coffee. I was a bit skeptical, but he was right. I do prefer this to Starbucks- the flavor is richer & it’s also far cheaper per bag. (I could get this size bag for a little over $ 12 at my local Wal-mart where a smaller bag of Starbucks sells for around $10. I will admit that there are some Starbucks that I’ll still pay $ 10 for!)

The coffee brews nicely & has a very good kick to it caffeine-wise. I’ve tried both this roast & the darker roasts, but prefer the medium roast because I prefer a more mellow taste. The only bad part? The price. As of this posting, the price is twice what I’d be paying in the store for one bag! I still do recommend this to everyone, though- just look to see if you can get it cheaper elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

