Icicles

11 02 2008

It is cold across the nation. Well, I say cold. It’s 66 degrees in the southern most point of Texas, but I am supposing that that is pretty cold for the southern most part of Texas.                                                                                                                                               

*image from The Weather Channel.
weather

It was 18 degrees when I trekked from my home to my office this morning. Not at all surprising, although a bit unnerving when your transportation method of choice includes a hefty bit of walking. So, I arrive at the office with wind-bitten rosy cheeks and nose. Thankfully, I enter the building and can start to thaw out.
But lo, to my (and many of my co-workers’) dismay, the heat is not running! Actually, to correct that statement, it was running when I entered the building, but it was quickly cut off. So, I know it DOES in fact work. Now, I’m not one for complaints, but as one who spends a great deal of time working on the computer, freezing fingers do not make for very effective work time. Alas, I sit at my desk, my fingers diligently pounding away on the keyboard, staving off the inevitable freeze of my hands. My poor circulation is not a fan of this most recent egregiousness bestowed upon myself and my collegues by building management. I imagine we will survive.
Today is Monday, February 11th, 2008, which I am sure anyone reading this knows. This means that we are 266 days from the general election on November 4th, 2008. Primary season is in full swing, and with Super Tuesday behind us, I am pleased to say that at least one party does not have a clear front-runner. The Republican Party seems to be owned by one John McCain at this time, but the Democratic nomination is still up for grabs between Senator Hillary Clinton, and Senator Barack Obama. I make no predictions as I write this, I feel like my predictory enlightenment leaves something to be desired. Tomorrow hosts the primaries in Virginia, Maryland, and the District of Columbia, or as it is affectionately called by beltway insiders, the Potomac Primary. We may see a front-runner after this the latest in our long line of primaries.
This election has so far been one of the most impressive displays of the American political system in a long time, in my opinion. For the first time in a long time, we’ve heard genuine debates about the issues, and can understand that the candidates are for more than winning and against someone else winning. It has been inspiring. Stay tuned tomorrow, as I will be following exits for the three primaries.
I’ll mention the date again, as there is something else equally terrifying that approaches and much sooner than the general election. Yes, four days from today is the day that excites women and terrifies men across the globe. ♥VALENTINE’S DAY♥. Is there another day out of the 365 days a year that men feel more pressure? I doubt it. I know from my own conversations with the male friends that I have that the expectations surrounding this holiday continue to grow. I’m sorry, boys. When you learn, like a small percentage of my wiser male friends have, that Valentine’s Day is to women what Halloween is to children, you will be in a much better position *ahem*, relationship-wise. What is your perfect Valentine’s Day? I bet that HIS idea of the perfect Valentine’s Day far differs from that of HERS. HIS and HERS of course being my names for everyman and everywoman. Oh, but that is just for those of us in relationships. What is Valentine’s Day to the Singleton? Well, I don’t know what Mr. Singleton feels, because I’ve never been in his shoes. But to Miss Singleton, Valentine’s Day above all else is BLACK THURSDAY. (Well, its Thursday this year). The day when her friends all have dates, and she gets to watch them all go out with the guys they care about, and she gets to sit at home eating ice cream and watching all the sappy chick flicks that will be playing on Lifetime all night. I empathize with all of you. I have been there. Trust me.
Anyway, as it is the week of the faux holiday, Valentine’s Day will be a recurring theme this week.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 02 2008
Sarahinpink

Hey girl! I must admit that it is *quite* cold today. The blog is totally cute & I will definately be back for more. <3.

11 02 2008
Tara

I completely agree on your theories of v-day. Adding on to that fact singletons are already devoured in the ice cream, I still have that one person that calls and asks “What are you doing tonight?” As if it’s not obvious already!! (and if you are me you have your loving bother-in-law calling you on the phone asking how “Nationals Singles Day” is.)LOL I love your blog idea… see you soon. Love you

Leave a Reply

